Original Splinter Cell voice actor Michael Ironside is rumoured to have returned to star as Sam Fisher in an as yet announced new entry in Ubisoft’s stealth action series.

Ironside was replace by Eric Johnson in 2013’s Blacklist, having voiced the leading man since the franchise’s inception back in 2002.

The rumour comes via “reliable contacts” of a NeoGAF user who claims to have had accurate info about Ubisoft projects in the past.

“I haven’t been involved with Steep or Wildlands, but I was surprised Splinter Cell didn’t appear at E3,” explained the source. “I know Ironside is back. He was in the studio, I said Hi to him and his daughter. He was shooting a movie with Amy Jo Johnson, and I know someone who worked on that set and Ironside confirmed to him he was doing the new Splinter Cell.

“I know Toronto has the mocap studio for it. I’m hoping to hear or see something unofficial, if not official, this year, but its been hard to get anything beyond “It’s Happening”.”

No in-game footage or assets have been seen and it’s not known which Ubisoft studio is leading development, indicating development may not be that far along at this stage.

With Ubisoft still working on a Splinter Cell movie it would make sense to be working on a new game too.

Source: NeoGAF